NOVEMBER 11, 1794


The Treaty, between the United States (U.S.) and the Six Nations (Haudenosaunee, or Iroquois) Confederacy, was signed in Canandaigua, New York, by sachems of the Grand Council of the Confederacy and by Colonel Timothy Pickering on behalf of the U.S.  It is also called the “Pickering Treaty.”  The Six Nations sent 1600 representatives.  The U.S. sent Pickering and General Israel Chapin.  Quaker mediators, who were trusted by the Seneca, were present to ensure fair negotiations.  The Treaty established peace and friendship and restored lands to the Six Nations in western New York ceded by the Fort Stanwix Treaty.  The Treaty recognized Six Nations’ sovereignty as an individual nation and, never broken, is still recognized by the parties.  The U.S. each year provides $4500 for the annual distribution of cloth to the Six Nations peoples, affirming its obligations under the Treaty.  The Treaty is officially celebrated annually on November 11 in Canandaigua, New York.

Source: “Canandaigua Treaty of 1794,” Ganondagan.  Retrieved 7/19/2019,
Map:  Buffalo Historical Society, 1920.  Public Domain in the US:  Pre-1/1/1925.  Public Domain elsewhere where copyright term is author’s life plus 70 years or less.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: